The Batman Honest Review

Viewing Date: 4th March 2022

The Big Bad Bat is back under a new persona in a extensive reboot that is dark and gritter than the usual standard set by the films past entries

EnterTheReviews

THE FOLLOWING REVIEW CONTAINS MASSIVE SPOILERS FOR ‘THE BATMAN’

Ever since the first trailer had dropped I had very high expectations especially since all clues pointed to a more violent and gloomier version of the Batman, something that fans had been asking for, for a long time. I am a huge fan of the Christian Bale trilogy especially ‘The Dark Knight & Dark Knight Rises’ and I didn’t mind Ben Affleck’s stint but I always wondered what a more violent Batman would look like and this film gives me what I want

Beautiful Scenes all round

The Cinematography throughout the film, was of the highest quality. Shout out to Greig Fraser for this stand out work. Everything just looked great about this film as it really captured the dark but yet still beautiful in its own unique way city of Gotham. It’s best to watch it than to describe it. However I will say my favourite shot was of our hero holding the flare leading a group of people not just away from danger but also leading them into a belief in the Batman , it was really powerful and emphasises my earlier point that Batman is not this well loved superhero that we have become used to seeing in other films. I also loved when Batman is fighting goons in the middle of our club with blasting techno music and blazing red lazers.

Patman as Batman

I always found the casting choice of Robert Pattinson as rather interesting. I’m sure I am not the only one but I judged him heavily of twilight which made me wonder if we would get a moody teenager batman. And to some extent that is correct. I feel as a Bruce Wayne in some scenes he seems like this teenager. However when he dons the suit he makes the batman a total badass, delivering powerful lines while his hard hitting punches that are emphatic and make you feel them every time they connect.

I am glad they decided not to waste time going over batman’s infamous backstory as a child but that they rather opted to add further information to it later in the film with Bruce Wayne’s father potentially being killed off by an orchestrated hit by the mob. The theory that it could have just been a random thug is not brushed off which still allows the possibility for ‘the Joker’s’ events to have taken place in the same era.

It is eluded too many times that Bruce Wayne is thought to be quite the mysterious character in the eyes of Gotham residents so I always find it hard to believe how people fail to discover or at least suspect Batman’s true identify. A secretive billionaire who rarely shows his face despite owning a huge global organisation and a vigilante who uses weapons and vehicles only a billionaire can afford, its not hard to at least think Bruce is an accomplice of some sort.

Zoe Kravitz was a excellent addition to the film as Selina Kyle, she was a total badass at times. Her character is interesting as she shows empathy to people rather than just for herself but she pursues a more violent vengeful approach to helping those she cares for. I really liked Robert & Zoe as a duo but I was surprised the two shared a kiss so quickly, I didn’t feel the romantic connection was quite there yet.

Jeffrey Wright was always going to be a good Commissioner Gordan , I liked him in Westworld and although he takes more of a backseat here, he still offers an enjoyable performance.

The Villains

The film introduced a main antagonist in the Riddler whilst having two sub-villains in the Penguin and Carmine Falcone. I really liked this version of the Riddler, his attire fitted the tone of the film well and Paul Dano got it absolute spot on with a creepy yet sinister performance that has made him an all time favourite villain of mine and I cannot wait for his return. The Riddler I am use to is the versions from Batman Forever and the Arkham games where the Riddler is more louder charismatic personality where as the one presented in this film is more of a hacker who likes to sit and strike in the shadows.

The transformation of Colin Farrell into the Penguin was remarkable, even though I knew it was him I couldn’t recognise him at all. His charismatic smart-guy performance was great in the limited screen time he had. Carmine Falcone didn’t really feel any different from the usual mob boss we’ve become used to in superhero movies but I still enjoyed him.

The Last Hour

The last hour of the film when all the build up of Riddler’s games reaches its climax is for me the best part of the film. I feel at times the film dragged for short sections but I loved every minute of the films climax. The interrogation scene of the Riddler in Arkham was the best scene of the movie both actors performed perfectly and the desperation in Batman’s face as he realises he has lost is exceptional. I am loving the trend of films now opting for the hero to not always swoop in at the last minute and save the day and The Batman continues that trend as the Riddler manages to kill thousands of people while our hero can only watch.

The battle against Riddler’s goons was cool however when Batman injects himself with Adrenaline I felt it was the perfect time for him to lose control and beat one of the goons to death. Over the course of the film we can see the toll it is taking on Batman trying to protect the city, on top of the fact thousands had just been killed with many still in danger, PLUS being shot at multiple times, this could have sent him over the edge and break his no killing stance, I feel this could have created a new plot point for the inevitable sequel.

Two things, one how did the new mayor survive, she got shot and then she was trapped in the rubble but then when saved by Batman she seems absolutely fine, didn’t make much sense. Two, was that two face at the end by Riddler’s cell , I don’t know if my eyes were deceiving me but I’m pretty sure I saw a burnt face. It’s either him or maybe the Joker but I hope Joker is left out of this new universe unless its Joaquin Phoenix .

Overall the Batman is an enjoyable more gruesome tale of a familiar Batman story with an added element of a murder mystery with an excellent supporting cast that seems to outshine the main actor at times. The score is excellent with the main theme being stuck in my head for the next few hours after the final credits. An interesting darker view on the caped crusader that reaps rewards. Looking forward to the next instalments.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Author: Mr.X

I'm just a normal guy who loves to review things I enjoy

Leave a comment